Dhaka Premier League'19

Mohammedan march on, BKSP seal first victory in DPL

blank Simanto Mallick
blank Simanto Mallick
Mohammedan march on, BKSP seal first victory in DPL
Mohammedan Sporting Club. -Cricfrenzy A-A+

||CF Correspondent||

Mohammedan Sporting Club yet again fought hard for their victory but this time, it went down to the wire before they clinched the match to secure their third straight victory in Dhaka Premier League (DPL).

On the way maintain winning spree, Mohammedan recorded a  nervy one-wicket victory in the last ball of the game against Prime Doleshwar at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Despite pace bowler Kamrul Islam Rabbi’s career-best 5-24, Gazi Group struggled hard before recording a three-wicket victory over Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity in a low-scoring game at the BKSP-3 ground.

Elsewhere at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, medium pace bowler Sumon Khan claimed 4-41 to script BKSP’s first victory in the league as they outclassed Uttara Sporting Club by 20 runs. 

Mohammedan Sporting Club vs Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club

In the game of two mighty teams, Mohammedan prevailed basically to be able to hold their nerve in crucial moments.

Doleshwar piled up decent 248-8 in a slow and low Mirpur pitch, a score which Mohammedan overhauled in the last ball, making 251-9, from a relatively precarious 125-7 in 30 overs.

No. 8 batsman Sohag Gazi struck a 51 ball-70, smashing three fours and six sixes while No. 9 Alauddin Babu made 38 off 43 and added 77-run for the eighth wicket to help the side overcome the jittery state before Shafiul Islam sealed the deal with last ball boundary.

With Mohammedan requiring just two runs for victory in the last four, Shaiful played out three dot balls much to the despair of the Mohammedan fans. But he remained calm under the pressure and hit the last ball boundary to ensure the side’s dramatic victory.

Doleshwar seam bowler Farhad Reza (4-55) was the wrecker-in-chief as Mohammedan stood on the brink of tasting first defeat by being reduced to 51-4, including the wicket of skipper Raqibul Hasan (16) who played consecutive 80 plus knocks in the first two matches to help Mohammedan earn the hard-earned victory.

Irfan Sukkur and Nadif Chowdhury seemed to have offered resistance but Doleshwar’s Pakistan recruit Saad Nasim (2-28) got the better of both of them. However, Sohag Gazi’s match-defining innings eventually snatched the game for Mohammedan from the jaws of defeat.

Earlier, Doleshwar put into bat first, Doleshwar rode on Taibur Rahman unbeaten 72 and Marshall Ayub’s 68 to rack up a challenging total.

Brief Score

Prime Doleshwar:  248/8

Taibur 72*, Ayub 68; Alauddin 3-49, Shafiul 3-64

Mohammedan Sporting Club: 251/9

Sohag 70, Alauddin 38; Farhad 4-55, Saad 2-28

Mohammedan won by 1 wicket

Gazi Group Cricketers vs Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity

Fast bowler Kamrul Islam Rabbi’s List A career-best 5-24 wrapped up Khelghar Samaj Kallayan Samity for 138 in 47.5 overs. But Khelaghar’s pace bowler Robiul Haque didn’t let Gazi Group make it a cake-walk. He replied Rabbi’s bowling with 5-41 as Gazi Group had to fight to canter to the victory by making 142-7 in 39.5 overs.

Gazi were reduced to 38-4, before Shamsur Rahman and Parvej Rasool combined for a 62-run to steady the innings. Shasmur was out for 51 and Khelghar again threatened to take the match away but Rasool showed composure to sign off the game without any hassle. Rasool was unbeaten on 59 and in fact, none of Gazi batsmen other than Rasool and Shamsur could reach double-digit mark. Mahidul Ankon with 57 was Khelghar’s highest scorer.

Brief Score

Khelghar Samaj Kallayan: 138

Mahidul 57, Nazimuddin 21; Rabbi 5-24, Mehedi 2-18

Gazi Group Cricketers: 142/7

Parvej Rasool 59*, Shamsur 51; Robiul 5-41, Tanvir 1-34

Gazi Group Cricketers won by 3 wickets

BKSP vs Uttara Sporting Club

Opener Mahmudul Hasan Joy hit 66 as BKSP scored 201-8 in 50 overs before Sumon Khan scalped 4-41 to dismiss Uttara for 181 in 49 overs. Abu Naser and Hasan Murad complemented Sumon’s effort with two wickets apiece. Raza Ali Dar was the highest scorer for Uttara with 51 while Shakhir Hossain made 50.

Brief Score

BKSP: 201/8

Mahmudul 66, Aminul 33; Nahid 2-30, Abdul 2-34

Uttara Sporting Club: 181

Raza Ali 51, Shakhir 50; Sumon 4-41, Naser 2-23, Murad 2-30

BKSP won by 20 runs


Read More

world cup

10 greatest World Cup matches

|| Feature Writing || Low-scoring thrillers, tenterhook ties and compelling comebacks – the 11 editions of the Cricket World Cup have had them all. Whether it’s a Kevin O’Brien-inspired Ireland chasing down

Match Report Live Score More
| Cricfrenzy


Warner was a great inspiration- Afif

 || CF Correspondent  || Bangladesh’s young all-rounder Afif Hossain passed a sleepless night following his inclusion in the Caribbean Premier League after being picked by St Kitts & Nevis Patriots from the draft

Match Report Live Score More

World Cup

Cricket is not played on paper-Shakib

|| Sports Correspondent || Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib al Hasan said that though hosts England and team India have been touted as favourites in the World Cup cricket is a game that is played

Match Report Live Score More


No Bangladeshi player sans Afif gets team in CPL

|| Desk Report || The seventh edition of Caribbean Premier league (CPL) saw a surprising turnaround for Bangladesh after no one apart from Afif Hossain got a team in the daft

Match Report Live Score More


Young Afif makes the cut in CPL

|| CF Correspondent || Bangladesh’s young all-rounder Afif Hossain gets a chance to shine in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) as St Kits and Nevis acquired him from the draft on

Match Report Live Score More