Dhaka Premier League'19

Abahani continue winning streak, Sk Jamal stumble again

blank Online Desk
blank Online Desk
Abahani continue winning streak, Sk Jamal stumble again
Legends of Rupganj's Mohammad Naim. -Cricfrenzy A-A+

||CF Correspondent||

Abahani Limited continued their winning streak in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League (DPL) 2019 by sealing their consecutive second victory while Shinepukur Cricket Club and DPL T20 champions Shiekh Jamal Dhanmondi Club tasted a defeat in their respective matches at different venues across the city today.

Abahani whacked Uttara Sporting club past by 189 runs at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, showing total team spirit. In a high-scoring affair, Shinepukur tasted a 23-run defeat to Legends of Rupganj to concede their consecutive second defeat at BKSP-3 ground while at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Brothers Union stunned Sheikh Jamal by seven wickets.

Abahani vs Uttara

The expectation was high on Uttara after their nine runs win over Sheikh Jamal in the first match but against Abahani, they looked clueless throughout the game. Abahani compiled a hefty 283-6 in 50 overs, riding on three half-centuries from Nazmul Hossain, skipper Mosaddek Hossain and Sabbir Rahman after which fast bowler Rubel proved to be hot to handle as he claimed 3-16 to help the side wrap up Uttara for paltry 96 in just 33 overs.

Ariful Hasan and Sabbir Rahman gave Rubel ably support in demolishing Uttara, picking up two wickets apiece. Shakhir Hossain was the highest scorer for Uttara with 24. Earlier, put into bat first, Abahani’s start was not as good as they expected with their Sri Lankan recruit opener Kusal Silva being dismissed cheaply. But Jahurl Islam and Nazmul Hossain provided the backbone, sharing 89 runs for the second stand.

Nazmul clouted seven fours and two sixes in his 84 ball-83. Mosaddek and Sabbir utilized the platform to good effect to pave the way for the side to achieve a big victory. Mosaddek’s 65 ball-64 was studded by five fours and one six while Sabbir smashed four fours and as many sixes in his 61 off just 35.

Brief Score:

Abahani Limited: 285/6

Nazmul Hossain 83, Mosaddek Hossain 64, Sabbir Rahman 61*; Nahid Hasan 3-70

Uttara Sporting Club: 96

Shakhir Hasan 24, Asiful Emon 16; Rubel Hossain 3-16, Sabbir Rahman 2-4

Abahani won by 189 runs

Rupganj  vs Shinepukur

In another match, studded by three centuries, Rupganj clinched their second straight victory by, edging mighty Shinepukur past by 23 runs. Riding on the centuries of Mohammad Naim and skipper Naeem Islam, Rupganj racked up a mammoth 357-7 but was scared by Shinepukur who came agonizingly close before being all out for 334 in 49 overs.

Opener Sabbir Hossain’s maiden List A century was instrumental in keeping them in the game. He made exactly 100 off 87, laced with eight fours and three sixes. Towhid Ridoy also dazzled with him with 81 ball-83 but couldn’t save the side eventually, vastly because of the middle order’s failure.

Left-arm spinner Nabil Samad was the wrecker-in-chief with 3-51. Opener Mohammad Naim smote eight fours and six sixes in 108 ball-122 in what was is maiden List A century and shared a 132-run with fellow opener Azmir Ahmed (48) to give the side a fluent start. Skipper Naeem capitalized the start, hitting a 98 ball-108, an innings designed with 11 fours and two sixes to keep the runs flowing. Indian recruit Rishi Dhawan was the other notable scorer with 23 ball-32. Sujon Hawladar, Delwar Hossain and Hamidul Islam snapped up two wickets each.

Brief Score

Legends of Rupganj: 357/7

Mohammad Naim 122, Naeem Islam 108; Haimul Islam 2-45, Delwar Hossain 2-67

Shinepukur Cricket Club: 334

Sabbir Hossain 100, Towhid Ridoy 83; Nabil Samad 3-51, Asif Hasan 2-66

Rupganj won by 23 runs

Sheikh Jamal vs Brothers Union

Opener Mizanur Rahman hit a run-a-ball 71 as Brothers Union sprung a surprise, beating Sheikh Jamal by seven wickets. It was Jamal’s second successive defeat in the league, having lost the first match to Uttara by nine runs.

Sheikh Jamal was shot out for a meagre 180 in 47.5 overs before Brothers comfortably overhauled the target by making 183-3 in 36.5 overs. Mizanur’s 71, which included 10 boundaries was complemented by their Indian recruit Chirag Jani’s 50 not out.

Brief Score

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club: 180

Elias Sunny 42, Rakin Ahmed 34; Mehedi Hasan 3-25, Shakhawat Hossain 3-35

Brothers Union: 183/3

Miznur Rahman 71, Chirag Jani 50*; Shahidul Islam 2-30, Tanbir Hayder 1-51

Brothers Union won by 7 wickets


Read More

Dhaka Premier League'19

Abahani eyes unbeaten DPL championship

||CF Correspondent|| Title aspirant Abahani Limited eyes unbeaten championship in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League, said head coach Khaled Mahmud on Thursday. Abahani had won all their DPL matches so far and

Match Report Live Score More
| Cricfrenzy

IPL 2019

BCB give NOC to Shakib eventually

||CF Correspondent|| Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday decided to provide no-objection certificate to all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for the upcoming Indian Premier League, giving an end to all speculation. The speculation began

Match Report Live Score More

ICC World Cup 2019

ICC World Cup tickets go on sale today

||Desk Report|| The ICC officially announced today the range of tickets across all teams and venues of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 are now available for general sale on the

Match Report Live Score More


Former Jamaican cricketer murdered

||Desk Report|| Former national cricketer William Haye murdered on Monday at his own residence in the Four Paths area of Clarendon. The retired cricketer was one the pioneer fast bowler

Match Report Live Score More


Shakib is expected to play risk-free IPL: BCB

||CF Correspondent|| Bangladesh Cricket Board official said on Wednesday that though they have allowed Shakib al Hasan to take part in the Indian Premier League as he had recovered sufficiently

Match Report Live Score More