Bangladesh-New Zealand

Preview and Probable XI: Bangladesh-New Zealand first ODI today

blank Simanto Mallick
blank Simanto Mallick
Preview and Probable XI: Bangladesh-New Zealand first ODI today
Bangladesh vs New Zealand. -Collected A-A+

||Desk Report||

Bangladesh arrived on the shores of New Zealand for the three-match ODI series and three-match Test series. They took it as the preparation camp for the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup in England. The series will be started with the first ODI scheduled to be held on February 13 in Napier. The match will kick off on 7AM (BST). Channel 9 will live broadcast the game for the Bangladeshi viewers.

On the other side, the series is the last bilateral tourney for the hosts before their cruise to England. The Black Caps had recently concluded Indian series with a disappointment. They failed to compete in the ODIs and lost series 4-1. Though they fought back in the T20s and sealed series 2-1, the top order were under question due to failure.  

According to the stats, Bangladesh haven’t won any series in New Zealand. Even, Bangladesh haven’t ever won a single ODI match in New Zealand against the home side. So, they the chances again to prove their worth while the hosts will aim to continue their winning streak.

Place and Time: McLean Park in Napier; February 13, 7AM (BST)


Bangladesh have already got a blow as Shakib Al Hasan has been ruled out due to injury. Shakib is one of the highest scorers for Tigers in New Zealand. So, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah, who are the key players of the visitors, should take lot of responsibilities and should make a balance in the batting line-up in the absence of Shakib.   

In the bowling department, spinners Mehidy Hasan and Nayeem Hasan might give a goof effort while the pace attack would rest on the shoulders of Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan, Shafiul Islam

Probable XI: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand

The opener Colin Munro has been sacked and replaced by Henry Nicholls who will open with Martin Guptill. But Kiwis skipper Kane Williamson and the veteran Ross Taylor are looking in good touch. Even, the bowlers like Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner have been impressive with their bowling. But, Trent Boult and Tim Southee would be their main trump cards.  

Full Squad: New Zealand (From): Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Todd Astle, Matt Henry

Probable XI: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Read More


Soumya gives befitting reply to his critics

|| CF Correspondent || Amid the concern over his form, Soumya showed what he is capable of. He found his form at a moment when there was widespread concern over his

Match Report Live Score More
| Cricfrenzy


Prime Doleshwar ends DPL with third spot

|| CF Correspondent || Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club sealed third spot in Dhaka Premier League, after narrowly edged Mohammedan Sporting Club past by three runs in the last round of Super

Match Report Live Score More


Consolation victory for Rupganj as title eludes them

|| CF Correspondent || Legends of Rupganj came agonizingly close to win the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) but Abahani’s victory against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club meant it eluded them finally. Opener Mohammad

Match Report Live Score More


Ruthless Abahani lifts DPL title with Soumya’s record double ton

|| CF Correspondent || Soumya Sarkar became the first Bangladeshi player to hit a double century in List A cricket, leading Abahani Limited retain the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) title in

Match Report Live Score More


Sheikh Jamal gears up to spoil Abahani’s party

|| CF Correspondent || Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club is keen to spoil the party of title aspirant Abahani Limited as the two sides takes on each other in the crucial Dhaka Premier League

Match Report Live Score More