T20 World Cup 2024

Celebrating champions of T20 World Cup over the years

Online Desk

Online Desk
Publish Date: 17:36 Sunday, June 30, 2024

|| CF DESK ||

In a thrilling final, India emerged victorious as the champions of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, ending their 17 years of trophy drought, defeating South Africa by a narrow margin of seven runs.

The ICC T20 World Cup, a thrilling cricketing spectacle, has seen various teams rise to the occasion and clinch the coveted title since its beginning in 2007. Let's take a closer look at the champions of each edition of the ICC T20 World Cup.

2007 - India

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup, held in South Africa, witnessed a fairy-tale run by India. Under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a young and dynamic Indian team defeated Pakistan in a nail-biting final. India secured a five-run victory against the arch-rival Pakistan at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

2009 - Pakistan

The second edition of the tournament took place in England. Under the leadership of Younis Khan, Pakistan emerged as the champions, defeating Sri Lanka in the final at Lord's. Pakistan's strong bowling performance, led by Umar Gul, restricted Sri Lanka to a modest total, which they chased down comfortably, with Shahid Afridi playing a match-winning innings.

2010 - England

The third ICC T20 World Cup saw England claiming their first major ICC trophy. As Paul Collingwood led England defeated Australia in the final at Kensington Oval, Barbados. Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen's explosive batting ensured England chased down Australia's total with ease, marking a historic win for English cricket.

2012 - West Indies

In 2012, West Indies emerged as the champions for the first time. The West Indies team showcased their flair and Marlon Samuels power-hitting prowess to defeat the host Sri Lanka to lift the trophy.

2014 - Sri Lanka

The fifth edition rolled onto Bangladesh’s soil, which saw Sri Lanka finally breaking their jinx in the ICC finals. Sri Lanka defeated India in the final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

2016 - West Indies

The West Indies became the first team to win the title twice with Darren Sammy as the captain. West Indies defeated England in a dramatic final at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Carlos Brathwaite's unforgettable four consecutive sixes in the last over of the match sealed a stunning victory.

2021 - Australia

During the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup, held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman, Australia won their first-ever T20 World Cup trophy. Led by captain Aaron Finch, Australia defeated New Zealand in the final. Mitchell Marsh's powerful batting and the team's strong all-round performance ensured an elusive victory for Australia.

2022 - England

England secured their second T20 World Cup title with Ben Stokes coming out of retirement to help England defeat Pakistan in the final.

2024 - India

Rohit Sharma's India ended a 17-year drought to lift their second ICC T20 World Cup trophy. Virat Kohli's half-century and Jasprit Bumrah's bowling prowess guided India to a seven-run win against South Africa in the thrilling final.