T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Online Desk

Online Desk
Publish Date: 23:00 Friday, May 24, 2024

|| CF DESK ||

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in June across the United States and West Indies.

The squad was finalized on Friday afternoon (UK time) after a two-hour meeting of the selection committee. The meeting was attended by Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Bilal Afzal, Gary Kirsten, Mohammad Yousuf, and Wahab Riaz.

The World Cup squad doesn't include any reserve players.

Among the 15 players selected, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan are making their debut in the T20 World Cup. Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim last appeared in the 2016 and 2021 tournaments, respectively, while the remaining eight players were part of the 2022 event in Australia.

Pakistan's journey begins in Dallas, where they will take on co-host USA on June 6, followed by matches against India on June 9 and Canada on June 12 in New York. Their final league match against Ireland is slated for June 16 in Florida.

Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Babar Azam (C), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf.