Abahani crowned DPL 2024 champions

Online Desk

Online Desk
Publish Date: 18:14 Tuesday, April 30, 2024

|| CF DESK ||

Abahani claimed the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) title with two matches in hand by beating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 4 wickets at BKSP Ground-4 on Tuesday.

Anamul Haque Bijoy and Afif Hossain both scored half-centuries in chase of 268 runs with one ball to spare.

Anamul scored 67 runs off 80 balls with 4 boundaries and 2 maximums, while Afif scored 83 runs off 88 balls with 2 sixes and 8 fours.

Captain Mosaddek Hossain then guided Abahani to victory with an unbeaten 53 runs off 54 balls.

Earlier, Ziaur Rahman's quick 85 runs off 58 balls rescued Sheikh Jamal, who were struggling at 110 for five while batting first. Ziaur's batting propelled them to a total of 267 for nine.

Opener Shykat Ali contributed with a 41 off 66 balls, while Shakib Al Hasan hit three sixes and two fours in his 49 off 56 balls, fell short of just one run to score a fifty.

Captain Nurul Hasan Sohan also chipped in with a 41 off 64 balls, but it was Ziaur's powerful batting that drove Sheikh Jamal to a competitive total.

Abahani secured their 23rd title win with two matches remaining and 28 points having won 14 consecutive matches.