India tour of South Africa

Sublime Rohit guides India to historic win

Pranta Deb Emon
Published Date: 14 Feb 2018 | Update :

Virat Kohli & Co. could not end their 25-year drought in the Test series, but with their solid display in ODIs, the Men in Blue have ended the 25-year wait for winning a series against the Proteas in South Africa. They are now leading the 6-match ODI series by 4-1.

India have won their ninth successive bilateral ODI series by clinching a 73-run victory over South Africa. The Men in Blue, led by Virat Kohli, have sealed their first-ever ODI series on South African soil. The rainbow nation did not stand a chance against the clinical opponents throughout the series, except for the 4th ODI.

Virat Kohli has now won 32 out of his first 40 ODIs as captain. He remains just after Ricky Ponting who won 33 out of his first 40 ODIs while leading.

Winning the toss, South Africa decided to bowl first. While the chasing team won the last four ODIs at Port Elizabeth, India turned the tables on Tuesday to mark their historical achievement. The sub-continental team posted 274 runs losing 7 wickets in 50 overs.

In his 8 innings in this tour so far, Indian opener Rohit Sharma has been dismissed by Kagiso Rabada on 6 occasions. However, today the scenario was different as Rohit became more furious against the pacer and went down the track to hit Rabada out of the park for quite a few times. With such change in approach, Rohit ended his bad run in South Africa by finally smashing a hundred in the 5th ODI of the series.

The right-handed batsman clubbed 115 runs before getting out by Lungi Ngidi. He stitched two important stands with Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer worth 105 runs and 60 runs, respectively. Following his dismissal, India lost the momentum and took only 38 runs losing three more wickets in the last 7.3 overs. However, they posted enough runs on the board to put up a good fight as each of Dhawan, Kohli, and Iyer scored 30 or more.

Lungisani Ngidi picked up four wickets and Kagiso Rabada bagged only one by dismissing Shikhar Dhawan. The Proteas produced two run-outs as well, to send Kohli and Rahane back to the hut.

While chasing the total, South Africa kept losing wickets at regular intervals, except for Hashim Amla and David Miller tried to build a good partnership in the middle. However, they could not register more than 62 runs in the 4th wicket as Miller was bowled out by Chahal on 36 runs. The spinner later sclaped the wicket of Morne Morkel as well.

Opener Aiden Markram scored 32 runs before giving his wicket to Jasprit Bumrah. Amla made 71 runs before leaving the crease following a run out. Heinrich Klassen scored 39 runs and dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav. No other batsmen could reach even the double-digits as South Africa got restricted to 210 runs.

Yadav, who remained wicket-less until the Proteas lost their first five wickets, wiped out the rest of the batting line-up by taking four wickets. Hardik Pandya bagged two important wickets by dismissing David Miller and AB de Villers.

India will take on the hosts in the remaining dead rubber of the series at Centurion on 16 February. The match will followed by a 3-match T20 series starting from 18 February.



IND 274/7 (50.0 Overs)
RSA 201-all out (42.2 Overs)
India won by 73 runs

Watch: Memorable away wins of Bangladesh

Watch: Memorable away wins of Bangladesh

Bangladesh vs Pakistan (1999 World Cup): Bangladesh vs Australia (2005 Natwest Series): Ba...

Highlights of England Total of 444 Runs World Record vs Pakist...

Highlights of England Total of 444 Runs World...

Who would’ve expected this, England now hold the record of highest total in One Day International....

South African team on their way to Mohali for the first Test.

South African team on their way to Mohali for...


Watch the incident that took Voges to Hospital

Watch the incident that took Voges to Hospita...

Australia batsman Adam Voges was taken to hospital after being struck in the head by a ball while fi...