Du Plessis-Miller guided Proteas to take 2-0 lead over Sri Lanka

Du Plessis-Miller guided Proteas to take 2-0 lead over Sri Lanka

Published Date: 02 Feb 2017 | Update : 02 Feb 2017
South Africa 307 /6 (Miller 117*, du Plessis 105, Lakmal 2/54) Sri Lanka 186 (Chandimal 36, Duminy 2/30, Parnell 2/34) South Africa won the match by 121 runs Player of the match - Faf du Plessis (South Africa). Faf du Plessis and David Miller struck centuries as South Africa cruised to an emphatic 121-run victory over wilting Sri Lanka in the second one-day International in Durban on Wednesday. Sent in to bat by the touring side, South Africa posted 307 for six in their 50 overs before restricting Sri Lanka to 186 all out from 37.5 overs to take a 2-0 lead in the five-match series. It was an eighth ODI victory in a row for South Africa and an 11th win in succession at home as they showed form in the build-up to the Champions Trophy in England in June. Their innings was built around tons for Du Plessis (105 from 120 balls) and the more explosive Miller (117 not out from 98 balls) as the pair put on 117 for the fifth wicket having come together with the home side teetering at 108 for four. Miller struck six sixes and was particularly severe on the Sri Lankan seamers as he blasted a second unbeaten ODI century in three innings and a fourth ton of his career. Sri Lanka made a spirited start to their chase, but when they lost openers Niroshan Dickwella (25) and Upul Tharanga (26) to brilliant catches by Du Plessis and AB de Villiers respectively, both off the bowling of left-arm seamer Wayne Parnell, it became a procession of wickets. Du Plessis leapt at cover to grab the ball one-handed well above his head while De Villiers sprinted towards the boundary and dived to grab the ball out of the warm Durban sky as it threatened to fall to safety. Leg-spinner Imran Tahir (2-26 in 8.5 overs) was again the pick of the home bowlers. The third one-dayer will be played at The Wanderers in Johannesburg on Saturday. Playing Squads: South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir. Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Upul Tharanga (c), Dhananjaya de Silva, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Asela Gunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan.

Watch Historic Winning Moment of Tigers Against England

Watch Historic Winning Moment of Tigers Again...

Bangladesh win by 108 runs, the series is shared 1-1, and this is the most famous day in their histo...

Khulna ends Sylhet’s winning streak

Khulna ends Sylhet’s winning streak

Sylhet Sixers 135/6 in 20 overs (Nasir 47*, Whiteley 27, Tharanga 26; Mahmudullah 2/12, Archer 2/25,...

Watch: Memorable away wins of Bangladesh

Watch: Memorable away wins of Bangladesh

Bangladesh vs Pakistan (1999 World Cup): Bangladesh vs Australia (2005 Natwest Series): Ba...

Watch the incident that took Voges to Hospital

Watch the incident that took Voges to Hospita...

Australia batsman Adam Voges was taken to hospital after being struck in the head by a ball while fi...