Bangladesh posted a Challenging total on the Board

Bangladesh posted a Challenging total on the Board

Bangladesh 255/10 (48.1 overs)
Imrul 27, Soumya 3, Mushfiq 22, Liton 8, Shakib 68, Mahmudullah 21, Sabbir 52, Nasir 12, Safuddin 13*, Mashrafe 17, Mustafiz 0
Frylinck 2/25, Phangiso 2/46, Siboto 1/49, Mulder 1/25, Budaza 2/41, Hendricks 1/40

In the only practice match before the three-match ODI series against South Africa, Bangladesh are currently playing against the South African Invitation XI at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein .

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won the toss for Bangladesh and elected to bat first in the beginning. Left-handed opener, Tamim Iqbal is not playing today’s match and Soumya Sarkar opened the innings along with Imrul Kayes.

Imrul started aggressively and he hit 3 boundaries in the 2nd over but he failed to convert innings. Imrul and Soumya were dismissed in two consecutive deliveries (7.1 and 7.2) from Frylinck.

Then, Mushfiq and Liton Kumar Das started to rebuild the innings but they failed too. Test skipper of Bangladesh was looking good and quickly scored 22 runs. But, Liton and Mushfiq were dismissed in two successive overs.

Bangladeshi batsmen struggled really hard against the Proteas bowlers and they found difficulty to score runs quickly. However, Shakib and Mahmudullah then rebuilt the innings and made a valuable partnership of 57 runs although Riyad failed to convert his innings and went back to the pavilion after scoring 21 runs.

Then, Sabbir joined Shakib in the middle and they added a magnificent partnership of 76 runs which guided Bangladesh to a respected total. Shakib was dismissed after scoring 68 runs while Sabbir scored 52.

Later on, Nasir Hossain came to bat after Shakib’s departure but he failed to score a big knock. At the end, Mashrafe scored 17 and Saifuddin scored 13 runs which helped Tigers to post a challenging total of 255 runs.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain.

South African Invitation XI: Jean-Paul Duminy(c), Beuran Hendricks, Willem Mulder, Robert Frylinck, AB de Villiers, Aiden Markram, Keshav Maharaj, Matthew Breetzke, Mbulelo Budaza, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Malusi Siboto, Khaya Zondo.

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos