PCB announces 16-man squad for Test series against Sri Lanka

PCB announces 16-man squad for Test series against Sri Lanka

The National Selection Committee of Pakistan headed by Inzamam ul Haq today announced 16-member squad in a press conference at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore for the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka at the UAE.

The first Test match will commence from September 28, 2017 to October 2, 2017 in Abu Dhabi. The second and final Test match will be a day-night Test match starting in Dubai from October 6, 2017 to October 10, 2017.

Ahmed Shahzad and Mohammad Rizwan have been dropped from the squad. On the other hand, Yasir Shah and Azhar Ali who had fitness problems, are selected in this side.

Explaining Yasir Shah and Azhar Ali’s selection, who had fitness problems, Inzamam said that both had cleared the test. “We told Yasir that he will not be selected if he does not clear the fitness test,” he said.

“Even though no bowler has been as successful as Yasir in the Test format, but we had to uphold the standards that were set. Azhar has a cyst in his knee but after taking injections that were prescribed by the doctors, he is fine and can play now.”

The series that starts from Sept 28, comes after the recent Independence Cup between Pakistan and the World XI that was held in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore earlier this month.

Pakistan has not hosted top-level international cricket — barring five limited over matches against minnows Zimbabwe in 2015 — since the Sri Lankan team bus was attacked by terrorists in March 2009, killing eight people and injuring seven players and staff.

Pakistan team:

Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz.

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos