Cooper leads Trinbago Knight Riders to claim their second CPL title

Cooper leads Trinbago Knight Riders to claim their second CPL title

Trinbago Knight Riders 136 for 7 (Munro 29, Cooper 29*, Hafeez 2-19)
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots 135 for 6 (Brathwaite 30, Cooper 2-12, Searles 2-29)

Trinbago Knight Riders won the match by three wickets
Player of the match: Kevon Cooper

The Trinbago Knight Riders have won the Caribbean Premier League title for the 2nd time in a row and a stunning cameo innings from Kevon Cooper has helped them to do so.

22 runs were needed from two overs to win the match and only three wickets were left for the Knight Riders. But there was Cooper in the middle who smashed Australia’s Ben Hilfenhaus for a six and two fours in three consecutive deliveries to stampede to a three-wicket victory with six balls to spare.

Meanwhile, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots managed to scored only 135 runs from their 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets. Sunil Narine bowled brilliantly as he conceded only 8 runs from 4 overs and took 1 wicket.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots had a very bad start but then late hitting from Carlos Brathwaite (30 from 25 balls) and Mohammad Nabi (18 from 5) lifted them.

However, Trinbago lost their 7 wickets within 90 runs and the target was looking enough for Patriots at that moment. Then, Cooper and Dinesh Ramdin built an unbeaten 46-run stand from 29 balls to send the crowd at the Brian Lara Stadium berserk.

Playing XI:

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Chris Gayle (c), Evin Lewis, Mohammad Hafeez, Brandon King, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Mohammad Nabi, Devon Thomas (wk), Ben Hilfenhaus, Sheldon Cottrell, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Trinbago Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Hamza Tariq, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo (c), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Daniel Christian, Javon Searles, Yasir Shah, Kevon Cooper, Ronsford Beaton.

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos