Live: Shakib gone, Nasir has come to Bat

Live: Shakib gone, Nasir has come to Bat

Bangladesh 188/5 (54 overs)
Tamim 71*, Soumya 8, Imrul 0, Sabbir 0, Shakib 71*
Cummins 3/30, Maxwell 1/8, Lyon 1/59

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat

After losing Soumya, Imrul and Sabbir within 10 runs in the first session, Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan built a solid partnership of 155 runs in the 4th wicket stand and then both the batsmen were dismissed before the Tea break.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim are currently batting in the first innings in the first Test between Bangladesh and Australia in Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh’s skipper, Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss at the beginning and elected to bat first. The decision of Mushfiq was proved wrong by his top order’s batsmen as they struggled to face Aussie pacers who used the early morning swing from the pitch brilliantly.

The first hour of the session was dominated by Australia. Pat Cummins got the ball buzzing around, scything through the top order. Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes and Sabbir Rahman were dismissed within 4 overs and Pat Cummins took all three wickets.

Then two men – Shakib and Tamim – playing in their 50th Test survived a testing burst before bringing out a fine counter-attack to rescue Bangladesh from that position, with an unbroken 86-run stand till the lunch.

Shakib and Tamim kept on playing brilliantly after Lunch. Meanwhile Shakib reached to his 22nd Test fifty in the 5th ball after the lunch. Tamim who played patiently from the beginning shifted the gear after lunch. He hit one 6 and one 4 in two consecutive deliveries of Lyon and he reached to his half-century during the 40th over.

Both the masterclass batsmen added 155 runs in the 4th wicket stand and then Tamim was dismissed by a gentle off-spin from Glenn Maxwell. He was on 71 runs at that moment. It was a big breakthrough for the Kangaroos.

Playing XI:

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Imrul Kayes, 4 Sabbir Rahman, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Nasir Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan, 9 Taijul Islam, 10 Shafiul Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Matt Renshaw, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith (c), 5 Peter Handscomb, 6 Glenn Maxwell, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Josh Hazlewood, 11 Nathan Lyon.

Watch the Match live here:

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos