Shakib’s Tallawahs won the match against Miraz’s Knight Riders

Shakib’s Tallawahs won the match against Miraz’s Knight Riders

Jamaica Tallawahs 148/6 (Sangakkara 47, Simmons 38, Narine 2-21)
Trinbago Knight Riders 147 (Munro 41, Darren Bravo 33, Smith 3-20, Williams 3-26)

Jamaica Tallawahs won the match by four wickets
Player of the Match: Kesrick Williams

In the 7th match of Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2017 at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad, two hot favorites of the tournament, Jamaica Tallawahs and Trinbago Knight Riders faced each other and Shakib Al Hasan’s Jamaica won the match convincingly by 4 wickets.

Shakib’s country-man, Mehedi Hasan Miraz who is there too with Knight Riders, didn’t get the chance to play for the third consecutive time.

In the beginning of the match, Kumar Sangakkara won the toss for Jamaica and elected to field first. While batting, Knight Riders stormed out of the gates courtesy blistering cameos from Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum and Colin Munro to reach 101 for 2 in eight overs.

But things started to change from that point as they had managed to score only 147 runs at the end. A brilliant bowling recovery from the Jamaica Tallawahs was the key for this as their bowling forced the Knight Riders to score only 38 from the last 10 overs.

While chasing, the Tallawahs too had a fantastic start to their innings. Lendl Simmons and Kumar Sangakkara made a 61-run opening partnership in just 5.3 overs.

But Simmons and McCarthy were dismissed quickly from that point and Narine along with Shadab Khan started to trouble the batsmen of Jamaica Tallawahs.

However, after Sangakkara was dismissed off a no ball against Narine he put on 59 for the next two wickets with Rovman Powell and Shakib Al Hasan to keep the Tallawahs in control.

At the end,  Imad Wasim and Santokie finished the match successfully for Tallawahs and Knight Riders conceded their first ever loss in this CPL.

Playing XI:

Trinbago Knight Riders: Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo (c), Shadab Khan, Javon Searles, Robert Frylinck, Kevon Cooper, Khary Pierre.

Jamaica Tallawahs: Lendl Simmons, Kumar Sangakkara (c & wk), Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Shakib Al Hasan, Rovman Powell, Imad Wasim, Odean Smith, Krishmar Santokie, Mohammad Sami, Kesrick Williams.

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos