Bangladesh 0 – New Zealand 6

Bangladesh 0 – New Zealand 6

Bangladesh 167/6 (20 overs)
Tamim 24, Soumya 42, Sabbir 18, Shakib 41, Mahmudullah 18, Mosaddek 12, Nurul 7*, Rubel 1*
Boult 2/48, Sodhi 2/22

New Zealand 194/4 (20 overs)
Williamson 60*, Neesham 15, Munro 0, Bruce 5, Anderson 94*, Colin de Grandhomme 4
Rubel Hossain 3/31, Mosaddek 1/27

New Zealand won by 27 runs.
Player of the Match: CJ Anderson

Bangladesh cricket team have completed their limited overs schedule against New Zealand by losing the last match by 27 runs. Bangladesh lost the ODI series by 3-0 and T2-I series by 3-0 too.

After a horrifying innings of 94 runs from Anderson and a solid knock of 60 runs from Williamson gave New Zealand a huge total of 194 runs in the beginning which was proved to be more than enough against Bangladesh.

At the start, Bangladeshi bowlers started economically and they were bowling according to plan. In the 5th over of the innings, they got the reward. Rubel Hossain bowled a slow delivery straight to the stump and it hit the pads of Neesham. No doubt was there and umpire gave him out.

Then, Rubel strike again in the same over and this time the star of the last match Munro got out. Bangladesh were in a good position in that time and then they started flying. Because, Mosaddek came to bowl and took the wicket of Bruce in is first ball of the over.

Then, Williamson and Anderson started their monster partnership from there. Both of them played together for 12 overs and added 124 runs in those which were really frustrating for the Bangladeshi bowlers.

New Zealand captain, Kane Williamson showed his class and temperament throughout his innings while Anderson was frightening. He hit the bowl like some toys and bowlers were really confused towards him.

Moreover, Tamim and Shakib dropped easy catches which helped this pair to build a huge partnership too. Then, Rubel Hossain came back to bowl his fourth and final over. He strike again with clean yorker towards leg strump. Williamson tried to shuffle it through the leg side but he was bowled when he was on 60.


But, that was too late and Anderson was still there. At the end, Anderson managed to hit few more and helped New Zealand to score 194 runs from 20 overs. He scored 94 runs from only 41 balls.

Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar came to bat while chasing. They had a fantastic opening stand of 44 runs and importantly, they looked focused with perfect aggression. Tamim got out after scoring 24 runs.

After that, Soumya had a brilliant partnership with Sabbir Rahman which worked as a booster for the chase. But, between 11 runs, both the batsmen got out and Shakib tried to build a partnership with Mahmudullah.

Both the batsmen played few overs but they were not scoring runs quickly. Mosaddek came to bat after Mahmudullah’s dismissal and the scenario was same. Shakib batted for a while and scored 41 runs but his innings was not at all effective for the chase.

At the end, Bangladesh lost the match by 27 runs and finished the limited overs series at 0-6.

Mustafizur is rested and Taskin is back in the place of him. He was also rested for the first Test in Wellington; The decision to rest Mustafizur comes ahead of a busy season for Bangladesh – they play a Test in India next month, followed by a full tour of Sri Lanka in March, before preparation for the Champions Trophy in England begins. He might feature in the second Test, though.

New Zealand also made a change with Wellington wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Blundell making his international debut in place of the injured Luke Ronchi. Blundell made 243 runs in nine innings at a strike rate of 134.25 in Wellington’s run to the Super Smash title. Allrounder Jimmy Neesham was listen to open with captain Kane Williamson.

Playing Squads:

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), James Neesham, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal,  Imrul Kayes,  Sabbir Rahman,  Shakib Al Hasan,  Mahmudullah,  Soumya Sarkar,  Mosaddek Hossain,  Nurul Hasan (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Rubel Hossain, Shuvagata Hom.

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos