BPL 2016 Final Dhaka Dynamites vs Rajshahi Kings full highlights

BPL 2016 Final Dhaka Dynamites vs Rajshahi Kings full highlights

BPL season 4 has come to end and Dhaka Dynamites won the title for the third time in 4 editions of BPL. For the other first time ever, Shakib Al Hasan won the BPL as a captain and this is the first time ever any other captain rather than Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has won it.

The final was held in Mirpur Sher e Bangla National Cricket stadium and it was packed house there. The crowd has been fantastic throughout the tournament and today, it was more than ever. The stadium has the capacity of 25 thousand people but there were more than 40 thousand people there in the ground to watch the most awaited final match.

From the very beginning, Dhaka Dynamites was treated as the best team of the season by the opponents and media. They have proved their worth and became the ultimate champion. In a one sided final match, they have managed to beat Rajshahi Kings by a huge margin of 56 runs.

It was also sweet revenge for Dhaka who were beaten by Rajshahi in both their league games earlier in the tournament. But, Rajshahi as a new franchise has done more than their worth. Darren Sammy’s boys has been entertaining throughout the tournament but in the last match of the season, they have failed to do magic.

The match was not one sided till the middle of Rajshahi’s batting. But, they made it easier for the Dynamites as they collapsed from 62-1 to 98-8, losing seven wickets for 36 runs as they tried to chase down 160. They were eventually bowled out for 103 in 17.4 overs.

Mominul Haque and Sabbir Rahman added 47 runs for the second wicket which led the recovery after Nurul Hasan’s departure in the early stage of chasing. but they were dismissed within four deliveries of each other.

After their departure, Rajshahi’s chase was dependent on English all rounder Samit Patel, Kiwi veteran James Franklin and their inspiring captain Darren Sammy. But, the big boys couldn’t hold their nerves properly to the pressure of a final match. but the big-hitting trio fell in three consecutive overs when it mattered the most.

The trophy was clinched atlast by Dhaka when Nazmul Islam’s top-edge off Russell was caught by Kumar Sangakkara who had earlier played an very much important hand to see Dhaka through to 159.

In the beginning, Dhaka’s batting was not so convincing. Their new sensation, Mehedi Maruf was dropped twice, on 1 and 6, before giving a catch to point off his Miraj in the fourth over. Then, bad boy of Bangladesh cricket, Nasir Hossain, was stumped off Afif Hossain’s brilliant delivery. And after that, Darren Sammy trapped Mosaddek Hossain leg-before for 5.

After quick fall of 3 wickets in the beginning,  West Indian power hitter, Evin Lewis played a fantastic innings and scored 45 and then got out off Farhad Reza’s delivery. Dhaka lost the big names quickly then as big-hitting trio of Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Shakib Al Hasan didn’t seem focused properly on their batting.

Then, one of the finest batsman in international cricket, Kumar Sangakkara proved his experience and played a sensible and important knock of 36 runs which helped Dhaka to post an unbeatable total of 159 runs.

Anyways, this was the end of a fantastic BPL season 4. Many players have shined and many couldn’t but most of the Bangladeshi players have been superb throughout the tournament.

Here is the full highlights of the BPL final match:

Posts Carousel

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos