Munro becomes only player to hit 3 T20I centuries

Colin Munro's world record inflicts winless series for Windies

Colin Munro's world record inflicts winless series for Windies

I have never actually seen a tempest in real life—and I hope that I don’t ever get to see one either—but the way Colin Munro inflicted pain on the two-time T20I World champions was something akin to a tempest.

And Windies were the unfortunate ones to be on the receiving side of it. Actually, they now have a taste of their own medicine as Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard are some of the players who have done similar things to other bowlers.

Winning the toss and opting to bat first, New Zealand posted a mammoth score of 243 in their allotted 20 overs. Colin Munro’s 53-ball 104—making him the only player to score 3 centuries in T20Is—and Martin Guptill's  38-ball 63 helped the Kiwis to this gargantuan score. The shots that the right-hand left-hand duo displayed was a resemblance of the all-consuming entity that appears at the end of time.

Every shot was consuming the Windies bowlers in their fury, who had no idea what to do in order to stop the torment they had been facing.

Carlos Brathwaite, the captain, Jerome Taylor and Rayad Emrit were the ones among the wickets, but all of them gave away at least 10-runs-per-over.

They had hoped that their batsmen would avenge them, but even they fell like a pack of cards.

The mighty Chris Gayle—perhaps the greatest T20 batsman of all time—fell for a duck and so did his opening partner, Chadwick Walton. Andre Fletcher showed some resistance with a 32-ball 46, but he also bit the dust after that.

In the end, the West Indians could only muster 124 from 16.3 overs. Tim Southee took 3 wickets after giving away 21 runs while Trent Boult supported him very well with 2 wickets from 21 runs. Ish Sodhi also took 2 wickets after giving away just 25 runs in his 4 overs and Anaru Kitchen took 1 wicket meanwhile.

For a two-time world champions losing by a margin of 119 runs is nothing but embarrassment as the Caribbeans bow of the tour without a single win.

A devastating tour indeed.

New Zealand: 243/5 from 20 overs

Colin Munro 104 (53)      |     Carlos Brathwaite  4-0-50-2
Martin Guptill 63 (38)

West Indies: 124/10 from 16.3 overs

Andre Fletcher 46 (32)   |     Tim Southee  2.3-0-21-3
Rovman Powell 16 (8)

New Zealand won by 119 runs.

Picture credit: Getty Images


Read More

Dhaka Premier League'19

Abahani receive Saifuddin blow

||CF Correspondent|| Title aspirant Dhaka Abahani Limited received a huge injury blow as all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin is ruled out for indefinite time frame due to the back injury that is sustained

Match Report Live Score More
| Cricfrenzy

Bangladesh Cricket

BCB all set to appoint psychologists

||CF Correspondent|| Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan said on Monday that they will appoint a psychiatrist ahead of the World Cup and if the players want they can seek

Match Report Live Score More

Bangladesh Cricket

Shakib doesn’t have any chance to participate in DPL: Nazmul Hasan

||CF Correspondent|| Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan said on Monday that he does not see any chance of Shakib al Hasan taking part in the Dhaka Premier League despite the

Match Report Live Score More

Pakistan Cricket

Next edition of PSL could be held in Pakistan: PCB Chief

||Desk Report|| Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief Ehsan Mani believes that the next edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) could be held in his country despite in UAE. Mani said at

Match Report Live Score More


Afghans touch new landmark, win first-ever Test

||Desk Report|| Afghanistan clinched a historic win as they beat Ireland in their second Test by 7 wickets held in Dehradun on the fourth day on Monday. The newcomers won

Match Report Live Score More