High Hopes for BPL 2015

High Hopes for BPL 2015

Pranta Deb Emon
Published Date: 25 Oct 2015 | Update : 25 Oct 2015
The second session of the BPL didn’t end on a very high note. The match fixing issue was one of them, this one particular issue put BPL in a very rough journey, also last session the Pakistani player boycott the BPL and it affected it somewhat. But this session the table has turned around. With six teams the third edition of BPL will kick off from 20th November with a grand astonishing opening program which worth of $450,000. The BCB has decided to bring bollywood superstars and icon in the opening program. Basically it will be the most expensive opening ceremony excluding ICC tournaments. Teams This session BPL has inducted 6 teams, which are Dhaka Dynamites Chittagang Vikings Sylhet Super Stars Barishal Bulls Rangpur Riders Comilla Victorians And all the teams are under new franchise and owner. The one new local team is Comilla Victorians which has created a buzz from the beginning and taking the team in a high level before the beginning of the BPL 15. Nasir will lead the Dhaka team, Shakib and Tamim will lead Rangpur and Chittagang respectively, Mahmudullah Riyad is the captain of Barishal Bulls. Our test captain will lead Sylhet and our ODI Captain will lead the newly inducted Comilla. International Players & CoachesComilla Victorians has officially expressed interest in getting Wasim Akram and Sourav Ganguly as Coach/Mentor for the team. The team is also in talks with Kevin Pietersen, Mahela Jayawardena. On 21 September 2015, the team officials have confirmed Wasim Akram as team mentor. Kieran Pollard was also finalized for Comilla Victorians. Comilla Victorians confirmed Shoaib Malik and Sunil Narine.They confirmed Khaled Mashud as their team manager & Mohhammad Salahuddin as their coach. Rangpur Riders is in discussion with Robin Singh for the position of Head Coach of the team. They confirmed Darren Sammy & Thisara Perera. Chittagong Vikings confirmed Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal,Elton Chigumbura and Tillakaratne Dilshan in their squad for 2015 season. Team officials are in talks with Misbah-ul-Haq. Dhaka Dynamites confirmed Kumar Sangakkara, Ryan Ten Doeschate and Mohammad Irfan in the squad and Eric Simons as their coach. Sylhet Super Stars confirmed Shahid Afridi and Ravi Bopara.They also confirmed Sarwar Imran as their coach. Barisal Bulls confirmed Chris Gayle, Brendan Taylor,Kevin Cooper,Evin Lewis in their squad. They also confirmed Graham Ford as their head coach. Chris Gayle was signed with Barisal Bulls $350,000 for the season, and addition $35,000 per match during knockout round. Public Expectations – Last year there was no BPL and also the last one was full of controversies, but this year the fans really hope BPL will be a successful tournament. They also expect it to be a fair and transparent tournament. But some people have argued over the issue which is; making the cricket a business. The fans really want some good piece of cricket from the players but it’s the responsibility of the franchises not to mix business with cricket. This time the expectation of the people is really high as BCB has promised to give them what they need. And also the fans think it’s a great platform for the local cricketers to get polished and play with the international players. Opportunities for new local Players – BPL has given the new local players an opportunity to play and learn along with the international players. It’s a startup for them; if they utilize this given opportunity then it will be both beneficial for them and for the Bangladesh Cricket team. Shuvagoto home, Anamul Haque, Shabbir Rahman, Taskin Ahmed they all play for the national team now but they’ve come through this big event BPL. So, it’s a floor of opportunities and its upon the players how they will take this opportunity. No Rajshahi-Khulna This Time! Well! This was really surprising not to see 2 of big divisions of Bangladesh playing into BPL, as the BCB said this time there will be only 6 teams and next year there can be Rajshahi, Khulna and other teams. But this time the people from Rajshahi-Khulna really expected their team to be in the tournament. Heart Breaking stuff for them but it will be interesting to see which team they will support now (finger crossed) 6 Teams 2 Stadiums? This year there are 6 teams in the BPL but the matches will be held only in 2 cities. The other 4 teams won’t get any home matches and thus it’s also heart breaking for the fans of those teams. Bangladesh needs to build or reconstruct the stadiums for this purpose, the fans have so much to offer but one has to dig it down and do what’s best for them. Will it be a successful tournament? From the point where we’re standing right now it seems to be okay, we don’t expect much drama and trauma as it happened last time. But so far so good, we can really hope it will be a successful tournament (Until Now) and we will also find some new talents from the 6 teams which will give Bangladesh Cricket team some new Shakib and Tamim. This time people have high expectations, the teams have high expectation so if everything goes fine we must say we are looking to one successful tournament ahead.

ত্রিদেশীয় ওয়ানডে সিরিজ

চমক দিয়েই দল ঘোষণা করলো বিসিবি

আগামী মাসেই শ্রীলঙ্কার বিপক্ষে ত্রিদেশীয় ওয়ানডে সিরিজ এবং টেস্টের লড়াইয়ে মাঠে নামবে বাংলাদেশ ক্রিকেট দল। আর এই ...

হাথুরু সমাচার

হাথুরুসিংহের শেষ পলিটিক্স

বাংলাদেশ ক্রিকেট দলকে হাথুরুসিংহে কী কী শিখিয়েছেন, সেটা আস্তেধীরে বোঝা যাবে; সময় বলে দেবে। তবে বাংলাদেশ থেকে একট...

ম্যাচ ফিক্সিং

'অ্যাশেজ থেকে শুরু করে বিপিএল, সব টুর্নামেন্টে ফিক্সিং করবো'

 'আপনি বিগ ব্যাশে জাদু দেখতে চান?,' দুবাইয়ের এক হোটেলে ভারতীয় ব্যবসায়ী সোবার্স জোবান ডেইলি সানের গোপন তদন্তকারী ...


আইপিএল নিলামের প্রথম দিনের পূর্ণাঙ্গ তালিকা

শেষ হয়েছে আইপিএলের ১১তম আসরের প্রথম দিনের নিলাম। প্রথম দিন শেষে সবদলই সন্তুষ্ট বলা যায়। নিজেদের পছন্দের ক্রিকেট...